Picnic blanket preview

I started this little lovey a few days ago because it was on my list of a million things to do before we leave the country to Burkina Faso for July…and then host my family flying in from the States for a couple weeks in August.  I just thought it would be nice to have something to sit on in the hot English August days as we slurp down that juicy watermelon California style!  {Hey, I can dream right?}

While I wasn’t too particular about the colour combos on this one, but more the practicality of her getting all dirty in the fresh-cut grass, I do really like the effect overall and can’t wait to try my hand at some free-motion quilting on my Silver Sewer!  For a great tutorial on a rock-pocket picnic blanket, check out this one by Erin at House on Hill Road for clear and charming instructions.  Thanks Erin!

