Wow!  I stumbled upon Hardanger embroidery a little while back and was mesmerised by all the carefully cut threads and the Norwegian styled motifs…  Well, I thought I’d make a little centerpiece as a gift for an upcoming wedding…  Its a beautiful craft but calls for a very hardy crafts(wo)man!  Whew!  I value symmetry and alignment, but maybe not as much as I thought, ’cause I think this little project might go flying out my window if I have to un-stitch one more time…!  Thankfully I am not alone in my endeavors… I have a lovely neighbor who lets me cry on her shoulder when I just can’t get it…!  She’s a wonderful Hardangerette (among many other things craft related) and I now value her hardy heart even more than I once did…!

Luckily for the rest of the world there are other Hardy Hardangerettes who carry on the wonderful tradition!  If you are interested in purchasing a gift for someone special, take a look at norwegianneedle for some really beautiful designs!

find the norwegian needle at etsy.com

find the norwegian needle at etsy.com

